Home > Personal > I step into the world of Blogging

I step into the world of Blogging

After creating a WordPress account last March, I’ve finally decided to actually write some content for the Blog.

 

My primary challenge is how much I work. Today for example, I’m procrastinating writing a Symantec Enterprise Vault Design Document that’s due tomorrow morning. Once that’s done, I have to finish writing a test plan for an Exchange 2010 Proof of Concept environment I just built for a client. Yes – all on the weekend before Monday morning!

 

 

Regardless, I’m on twitter now (@HardCoreITGuy) and I think my status updates regarding my projects don’t mean much unless I blog about them too. I mean, saying yeah I completed a vSphere and SAN deployment doesn’t mean much unless I can write about the highlights and the dos/don’ts that I ran into etc.

 

 

I honestly don’t want to blog for publicity or some kind of status in the community, but even though I still feel that I have a vast amount to learn I also feel I have a lot that I could be sharing. I literally have hundreds of ‘how tos’, quick tips, useful links, and best practices that I have sitting in an MS OneNote notebook that I’m continually dumping content into when researching for a project as well as anything I discover during my projects.

 

 

So my goal over the next few months is to get active on my blog and start sharing what knowledge I can with the community. I’ve definitely got a bit of a learning curve in terms of how best to share content, upload screenshots, offline editors etc, and not a lot of time to make the blog site ‘pretty’ or cool – so for now, my focus is on content. And then, once my projects are under control and I can free up more cycles I’ll see what I can do about how the site looks.

 

With that, please welcome me to the world of blogging and I hope that over time you’ll find my site useful. 

 

Nigel Brown (aka @HardCoreITGuy)

 

 


Categories: Personal Tags:
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment